Rare Book Monthly

Articles - September - 2018 Issue

Oak Knoll Fest October 5 -7

874aea10-e590-4679-926c-8985575a1a6c

An Oak Knoll tradition for Twenty Years

Oak Knoll Fest XX is scheduled for October 5th – October 7th, 2018.  The theme this year is “Bringing it on Home” in which printers, booksellers, and collectors discuss that theme in a free symposium on Saturday [10/6], focusing on the importance of fine press book fairs that help and expand the knowledge of the book arts.

 

The book fair follows on Saturday and Sunday [10/6 & 10/7].  See this year’s exhibitors, including 40+ printers from North America and Europe.

 

We will also host talks by Pat Sweet, proprietor of Bo Press, David Sellers, owner of Pied Oxen Printers, Graham Moss, owner of Incline Press, and Rebecca Romney, bookseller at Honey & Wax Booksellers.

 

Here is a list of exhibitors as of August 30th

 

  1. David Sellers - Pied Oxen Press (paid AMEX) piedoxen@aol.com
  2. Elies Plana – (paid MC) elies@eliesplana.com
  3. Thomas Parker Williams – Luminice Press (paid Check) tpwilliams89@gmail.com
  4. Carol Blinn – Warwick Press (paid Check) CAROL@WARWICKPRESS.COM
  5. Richard Minsky – (paid VISA) abebooks@bookarts.net
  6. Craig Jobson – Lark Sparrow Press (paid VISA) larksparrowpress@gmail.com
  7. Don Rash – Boss Dog Press (paid Check) bossdogpress@donrashfinebookbinder.com
  8. Abigail Rorer – The Lone Oak Press (paid check) loneoakpr49@earthlink.net
  9. Robert McCamant – Sherwin Beach Press (paid check) bmccamant@quarterfold.com
  10. David Moyer – Red Howler Press (paid check) redhowler@windstream.net
  11. Carolee Cambell – Ninja Press (2 tables, paid check) ninjapress@roadrunner.com
  12. Barbara Henry – Harsimus Press (paid check) harsimuspress@yahoo.com
  13. Chad Pastotnik – Deep Wood Press (paid MC) chad@deepwoodpress.com
  14. Melanie Mauro – Heirloom Press (paid check) heirloom.press@gmail.com
  15. Mindy Belloff – Intima Press (paid AMEX) intimapress@yahoo.com
  16. Nancy Loeber – (paid Check) nancyloeber11@yahoo.com
  17. Russell Maret – (paid check) russellmaret@me.com
  18. Michael McGarvey – Port Press (paid VISA) portpress@comcast.net
  19. Tara Bryan – Walking Bird Press (paid check) taratbryan@gmail.com
  20. Wesley Tanner – Passim Editions (Paid Visa) wesley@tannerfecit.com
  21. Susan Leopard – Leopard Studio Editions (paid check) sueleopard@mac.com
  22. Ray Nicholas – Lead Graffiti (paid visa) ray@leadgraffiti.com
  23. Mark McMurray – Caliban Press (paid check) calibanpress@gmail.com
  24. Rick Black – Turtle Light Press (paid check) rick@turtlelightpress.com
  25. Maria Pisano – Memory Press (paid check) mgpstudio252@gmail.com
  26. David Carruthers – Papeterie Saint-Armand (paid check) denise.lapointe@gmail.com
  27. Robert Strossi – Brier Hill Press (paid check) brierhillgallery@rcn.com
  28. Gaylord Schanilec – Midnight Paper Sales (paid Visa) gaylord@midnightpapersales.com
  29. Agathe Piroir – Atelier-Galerie A. Piroir (2 tables, paid Visa) info@piroir.com
  30. David Esslemont – Solmentes Press (not paid) esslemont2@gmail.com
  31. Leonard Seastone – Tideline Press (paid visa) leonard.seastone@gmail.com
  32. Stephen Heaver – Hill Press (paid check) sgheaver@aol.com
  33. Kitty Maryatt – Two Hands Press (paid check) twohandspress@gmail.com

 

Locations:

 

Oak Knoll Books & Press

310 Delaware Street

New Castle, DE 19720

Tel:  302.328.7232

 

Symposium and Speakers

Immanuel Parish Hall

100 Harmony St.

New Castle, Delaware 19720

 

Fest Exhibition Hall

 

New Castle Senior Center

400 South Street

New Castle, Delaware 19720

 

Here is a link to the events:  https://www.oakknoll.com/fest/locations.html

Rare Book Monthly

  • <b>Swann Auction Galleries:</b> Abraham Lincoln, <i>Emancipation Proclamation by the President of the United States,</i> pamphlet, 1862. $10,000 to $15,000.
    <b>Swann Auction Galleries:</b> Family papers of the distinguished Ruby-Jackson family, Portland, Maine, 1853-1961. $3,000 to $4,000.
    <b>Swann Auction Galleries:</b> Family papers of the Confederate Vice President Alexander Stephens & the persons who served him, 1866-1907. $25,000 to $35,000.
    <b>Swann Auction Galleries:</b> Autograph book with inscriptions by orators Moses Roper & Peter Williams, 1821-54. $10,000 to $15,000.
    <b>Swann Auction Galleries:</b> Archive of letters, postcards, and greeting cards sent by Romare Bearden, 1949-87. $5,000 to $7,500.
    <b>Swann Auction Galleries:</b><br>E. Simms Campbell, <i>A Night-Club Map of Harlem,</i> in inaugural issue of Manhattan, 1933. $10,000 to $15,000.
    <b>Swann Auction Galleries:</b> Papers of the comedian Nipsey Russell, including a letter from MLK, 1929-2000. $6,000 to $9,000.
    <b>Swann Auction Galleries:</b> Early German-American anti-slavery broadside, <i>Sclaven-Handel,</i> Philadelphia, 1794. $12,000 to $18,000.
    <b>Swann Auction Galleries:</b> Edmonia Lewis, prominent sculptor, carte-de-visite by Henry Rocher, c. 1866-71. $3,000 to $4,000.
    <b>Swann Auction Galleries:</b><br><i>The Black Panther: Black Community News Service,</i> 44 issues, San Francisco, 1967-1971. $3,000 to $4,000.
    <b>Swann Auction Galleries:</b> Ernest Withers, <i>I Am A Man, Sanitation Workers Strike,</i> silver print, 1968. $5,000 to $7,500.
    <b>Swann Auction Galleries:</b> <i>March For Freedom Now!,</i> poster for the 1960 Republican Convention. $4,000 to $6,000.

Article Search

Archived Articles

Ask Questions