Rare Book Monthly

Articles - September - 2018 Issue

Oak Knoll Fest October 5 -7

An Oak Knoll tradition for Twenty Years

Oak Knoll Fest XX is scheduled for October 5th – October 7th, 2018.  The theme this year is “Bringing it on Home” in which printers, booksellers, and collectors discuss that theme in a free symposium on Saturday [10/6], focusing on the importance of fine press book fairs that help and expand the knowledge of the book arts.

 

The book fair follows on Saturday and Sunday [10/6 & 10/7].  See this year’s exhibitors, including 40+ printers from North America and Europe.

 

We will also host talks by Pat Sweet, proprietor of Bo Press, David Sellers, owner of Pied Oxen Printers, Graham Moss, owner of Incline Press, and Rebecca Romney, bookseller at Honey & Wax Booksellers.

 

Here is a list of exhibitors as of August 30th

 

  1. David Sellers - Pied Oxen Press (paid AMEX) piedoxen@aol.com
  2. Elies Plana – (paid MC) elies@eliesplana.com
  3. Thomas Parker Williams – Luminice Press (paid Check) tpwilliams89@gmail.com
  4. Carol Blinn – Warwick Press (paid Check) CAROL@WARWICKPRESS.COM
  5. Richard Minsky – (paid VISA) abebooks@bookarts.net
  6. Craig Jobson – Lark Sparrow Press (paid VISA) larksparrowpress@gmail.com
  7. Don Rash – Boss Dog Press (paid Check) bossdogpress@donrashfinebookbinder.com
  8. Abigail Rorer – The Lone Oak Press (paid check) loneoakpr49@earthlink.net
  9. Robert McCamant – Sherwin Beach Press (paid check) bmccamant@quarterfold.com
  10. David Moyer – Red Howler Press (paid check) redhowler@windstream.net
  11. Carolee Cambell – Ninja Press (2 tables, paid check) ninjapress@roadrunner.com
  12. Barbara Henry – Harsimus Press (paid check) harsimuspress@yahoo.com
  13. Chad Pastotnik – Deep Wood Press (paid MC) chad@deepwoodpress.com
  14. Melanie Mauro – Heirloom Press (paid check) heirloom.press@gmail.com
  15. Mindy Belloff – Intima Press (paid AMEX) intimapress@yahoo.com
  16. Nancy Loeber – (paid Check) nancyloeber11@yahoo.com
  17. Russell Maret – (paid check) russellmaret@me.com
  18. Michael McGarvey – Port Press (paid VISA) portpress@comcast.net
  19. Tara Bryan – Walking Bird Press (paid check) taratbryan@gmail.com
  20. Wesley Tanner – Passim Editions (Paid Visa) wesley@tannerfecit.com
  21. Susan Leopard – Leopard Studio Editions (paid check) sueleopard@mac.com
  22. Ray Nicholas – Lead Graffiti (paid visa) ray@leadgraffiti.com
  23. Mark McMurray – Caliban Press (paid check) calibanpress@gmail.com
  24. Rick Black – Turtle Light Press (paid check) rick@turtlelightpress.com
  25. Maria Pisano – Memory Press (paid check) mgpstudio252@gmail.com
  26. David Carruthers – Papeterie Saint-Armand (paid check) denise.lapointe@gmail.com
  27. Robert Strossi – Brier Hill Press (paid check) brierhillgallery@rcn.com
  28. Gaylord Schanilec – Midnight Paper Sales (paid Visa) gaylord@midnightpapersales.com
  29. Agathe Piroir – Atelier-Galerie A. Piroir (2 tables, paid Visa) info@piroir.com
  30. David Esslemont – Solmentes Press (not paid) esslemont2@gmail.com
  31. Leonard Seastone – Tideline Press (paid visa) leonard.seastone@gmail.com
  32. Stephen Heaver – Hill Press (paid check) sgheaver@aol.com
  33. Kitty Maryatt – Two Hands Press (paid check) twohandspress@gmail.com

 

Locations:

 

Oak Knoll Books & Press

310 Delaware Street

New Castle, DE 19720

Tel:  302.328.7232

 

Symposium and Speakers

Immanuel Parish Hall

100 Harmony St.

New Castle, Delaware 19720

 

Fest Exhibition Hall

 

New Castle Senior Center

400 South Street

New Castle, Delaware 19720

 

Here is a link to the events:  https://www.oakknoll.com/fest/locations.html

Rare Book Monthly

  • Sotheby’s, July 11: Galileo, Document annotated and signed by Galileo, dated Padua, 1595. £500,000 to £700,000.
  • Bonhams, July 15-25: THE AUTOGRAPH COLLECTION OF ISRAEL WITKOWER. $8,000 - $12,000
    Bonhams, July 15-25: GEORGE WASHINGTON SIGNED DISCHARGE. June 9, 1783. $8,000 - $12,000
    Bonhams, July 15-25: "Shhhhh!" A DAVID SHANNON ILLUSTRATION FROM DAVID GETS IN TROUBLE. $2,500 - $3,500
    Bonhams, July 15-25: PICASSO, PABLO. Le Carmen des Carmen. Paris, 1964. $2,000 - $3,000
    Bonhams, July 15-25: RARE AUTOGRAPH OF AMERICAN NAVAL HERO CAPTAIN JAMES MUGFORD. $2,000 - $3,000
    Bonhams, July 15-25: KARA WALKER SILHOUETTES FOR TONI MORRISON'S FIVE POEMS. $2,000 - $3,000
    Bonhams, July 15-25: FIRST APPEARANCE OF PINOCCHIO IN ENGLISH. COLLODI, CARLO.New York, 1892. $2,000 - $3,000
    Bonhams, July 15-25: BONAPARTE, JOSEPHINE. Autograph Note (unsigned) in French. $1,000 - $1,500
    Bonhams, July 15-25: FROST ON MATTHEW ARNOLD.Autograph Letter Signed to Adams, July 27, 1934. $800 - $1,200
    Bonhams, July 15-25: ELIAS BOUDINOT'S COPY OF BARLOW'S COLUMBIAN EPIC. $800 - $1,200
    Bonhams, July 15-25: A SIGNED HART CRANE BROOKLYN BRIDGE POSTCARD TO EDWARD DAHLBERG. $600 - $800
    Bonhams, July 15-25: A STOCK CERTIFICATE SIGNED BY THE "QUEEN OF WALL STREET," HETTY GREEN. $700 - $900
  • Forum Auctions
    Fine Books, Manuscripts and Works on Paper
    18th July 2024
    Forum, July 18: Rowling (J.K.) Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone, first hardback edition, 1997. £40,000 to £60,000.
    Forum, July 18: Binding.- Lucian of Samosata Opuscula Erasmo Roterodamo interprete, first Aldine edition, Venice, Heirs of Aldus Manutius and A, 1516. £15,000 to £20,000.
    Forum, July 18: Bacon (Sir Francis). De Dignitate et Augmentis Scientiarum Libri IX, Pierre Gassendi's copy gifted him by Nicolas-Claude Fabri de Peiresc, Paris, Typis Petri Mettayer, 1624. £15,000 to £20,000.
    Forum Auctions
    Fine Books, Manuscripts and Works on Paper
    18th July 2024
    Forum, July 18: Shakespeare (William). The First Part of Henry the Fourth, with the Life and Death of Henry, Sirnamed Hot-Spurre…, Printed by Isaac Jaggard, and Ed. Blount, 1623. £15,000 to £20,000.
    Forum, July 18: Darwin (Charles). On the Origin of Species by Means of Natural Selection, third edition, presentation inscription 'From the Author' in a secretary's hand, John Murray, 1861. £15,000 to £20,000.
    Forum, July 18: Teague (Violet). Geraldine Rede. Night Fall in the Ti-Tree, first edition, Melbourne, Sign of the Rabbit, 1905; and another. £10,000 to £15,000.
    Forum Auctions
    Fine Books, Manuscripts and Works on Paper
    18th July 2024
    Forum, July 18: India.- Primrose (Gen. James Maurice). Collection of 24 original drawings from his time in India with the 43rd Regiment of Foot, circa 1855 to 1864. £10,000 to £15,000.
    Forum, July 18: Manet (Édouard). Trente Eaux-fortes originales, the complete portfolio, Paris, A. Stroelin, 1905. £8,000 to £12,000.
    Forum, July 18: Bible, English. [The Holy Bible], first edition of the King James Bible, the Great 'He' Bible, [Robert Barker], [1611]. £6,000 to £8,000.
    Forum Auctions
    Fine Books, Manuscripts and Works on Paper
    18th July 2024
    Forum, July 18: America.- Mathews (Alfred E.) Pencil Sketches of Montana, first edition, New York, Published by the Author, 1868. £6,000 to £8,000.
    Forum, July 18: Bawden (Edward). Original dust-jacket artwork for 'The Outsider' by Albert Camus, [c.1946]. £4,000 to £6,000.
    Forum, July 18: World.- Fries (Laurent). Tabula Nova Totius Orbis, woodcut map, [c.1541]. £3,000 to £5,000.

Article Search

Archived Articles

Ask Questions